[Telepathy] Reusing Connection objects

Andre Magalhaes andrunko at gmail.com
Thu Jun 8 06:10:36 PDT 2006

On 6/8/06, Robert McQueen <robert.mcqueen at collabora.co.uk> wrote:
> Andre Magalhaes wrote:
> > But what i mean is. If a user calls Connection.Disconnect and then
> > wants to reuse this connection by just changing some connection
> > params. Is this possible? I don't think so. I would need to request a
> > new Connection to do it.
> It's not, but that's kind of intentional, to avoid the complexity that
> would ensue. I certainly don't want connections to be able to change the
> parameters mid-flow (what does it mean to change the password after
> you've already connected?), and changing the account name when you
> re-connected an account would also require changing the bus name/object
> path. It seems like it could be quite complex to implement. What's the
> benefit of allowing people to do this versus just creating a new connection?
Ah, ok. I just want know if this was intentional or not. The question
was because on the very beggining of tapioca, we had some problems
with connection manager auto destruction. I can't remember exactly
what it was, but it was something like. The connection manager lost
the connection and then send the signal (Disconnected) to the UI
(which is async), so when the UI received the signal, the connection
manager already had destroyed the connection and the UI, tried to use
it, for some reason. But if you have no problem with this, it's ok.


More information about the Telepathy mailing list