[PATCH 08/72] drm/i915/execlists: Remove the ring advancement under preemption

Chris Wilson chris at chris-wilson.co.uk
Tue Feb 6 20:57:08 UTC 2018


Load an empty ringbuffer for preemption, ignoring the lite-restore
workaround as we now the preempt context is always idle before preemption.

Signed-off-by: Chris Wilson <chris at chris-wilson.co.uk>
Cc: Michal Winiarski <michal.winiarski at intel.com>
Cc: Michel Thierry <michel.thierry at intel.com>
Cc: Michal Wajdeczko <michal.wajdeczko at intel.com>
Cc: Tvrtko Ursulin <tvrtko.ursulin at intel.com>
Cc: Mika Kuoppala <mika.kuoppala at intel.com>
---
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_lrc.c | 7 -------
 1 file changed, 7 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_lrc.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_lrc.c
index c2c8380a0121..56ee983ca7f4 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_lrc.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_lrc.c
@@ -449,13 +449,6 @@ static void inject_preempt_context(struct intel_engine_cs *engine)
 
 	GEM_BUG_ON(engine->execlists.preempt_complete_status !=
 		   upper_32_bits(ce->lrc_desc));
-	GEM_BUG_ON(!IS_ALIGNED(ce->ring->size, WA_TAIL_BYTES));
-
-	memset(ce->ring->vaddr + ce->ring->tail, 0, WA_TAIL_BYTES);
-	ce->ring->tail += WA_TAIL_BYTES;
-	ce->ring->tail &= (ce->ring->size - 1);
-	ce->lrc_reg_state[CTX_RING_TAIL+1] = ce->ring->tail;
-
 	GEM_BUG_ON((ce->lrc_reg_state[CTX_CONTEXT_CONTROL + 1] &
 		    _MASKED_BIT_ENABLE(CTX_CTRL_ENGINE_CTX_RESTORE_INHIBIT |
 				       CTX_CTRL_ENGINE_CTX_SAVE_INHIBIT)) !=
-- 
2.16.1



More information about the Intel-gfx-trybot mailing list